4C Hair Types

As you all know from reading my blog I am coming up on my one year. GO ME!. It is a milestone that I can truly say I am happy about.  But I am still  trying to determine my natural hair type. SO I took to the internet to try to educate myself on my hair type  . Now the task was no way easy but I think that I have come to the conclusion that I am 4C. Now some people maybe saying what is 4C  hair and that just simply means that your hair is dense, course, and spongy and it soaks in oils and water making the hair extra dry.  For this kind of hair you need to find a good conditioner and shampoo something free of sulfate and harsh chemicals, as these will only add to the dryness of the hair making it appear dull and cause an extreme amount of damage.  I am in no way an expert on this but I have done a lot of research to support my ideology that I have about my hair. When the hair is moistened and cleansed really well there is little to no breakage. I will continue to post about different hair types as I continue my quest in natural hair.

One thought on “4C Hair Types

  1. I went natural 2 years ago. My hair texture ranges from a 4a-4c. I don’t find the process to be difficult, however, from reading natural hair blogs I see that I am doing things a bit differently. In fact, I’m probably totally wrong in my approach, but it works beautifully for me. I lightly wash my hair with conditioner every morning. I squeeze out excess moisture and seal it with a Paul Mitchel product and a very small amount if coconut oil and comb it out while it is wet. I allow my hair to dry naturally every day. I’m sure that I leave the house in the mornings with it still wet, but that is not a problem for me in summer or winter weather. My hair stays soft and moisturized and I have very minimal breakage. At night, I tie it up in a silk scarf. It is still soft in the mornings, and I can easily restyle it by spritizing it with water or holding my head under the faucet and wetting it, using a small amount of product and oil, combing out and its good to go. The morning co-washings I do are more of a habit than a necessity. I never wear protective styles or two strand twists, etc. Part of my reason for going natural is that I didn’t want to be bothered with my hair. Thus, I have no interest in taking the time to twist, braid or etc.

Leave a Reply

